Friend of the Counties

Friend of the Counties Award

The Friend of the Counties Award was created to encourage noncounty persons and organizations to take significant actions that advance the interests of counties and the association. Any person or organization in North Carolina or the Unites States who or which is not directly associated with North Carolina county government or the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners (NCACC) is eligible to receive the award.

Selection shall be made each year by the NCACC president after consultation with the NCACC officers. The award shall be presented at the association’s annual conference each year. An appropriate plaque and/or certificate shall commemorate the award.

Friend of the Counties Award Recipients

Year Recipient
2005 North Carolina Representatives Becky Carney (Mecklenburg) and Carolyn Justice (Pender)
2006 North Carolina Representatives Bill Owens (Pasquotank) and Wilma Sherrill (Buncombe)
2007 All members of the General Assembly
2008 Ralph W Ketner
2009 Local Government Federal Credit Union (LGFCU) President Maurice Smith
2010 North Carolina Representative Angela Bryant (Nash)
2013 State Sen. Jim Davis (Macon County)
2014 Dr. Joe Zublena, Cooperative Extension Director
2015 Rep. Chuck McGrady (Henderson County) and Rep. Howard J. Hunter III (Hertford County)
2016 David Baker, North Carolina Department of Revenue
2017 Michael Sprayberry, Director, NC Emergency Management
2018 Robert Ingram, GlaxoSmithKline
 2019  Dr. Mike Yoder and Ms. Sarah Kotzian, North Carolina 4-H Youth Development