Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Position Officer County
President-Elect Kevin Austin
First Vice President  Ronnie Smith
Second Vice President  Frank Williams
Past President   Brenda Howerton
Executive Director  Kevin Leonard NCACC

2018-2019 District Directors

District Directors are elected to two-year terms on the NCACC Board of Directors. The odd-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference, which is held every August, in odd-numbered years. The even-numbered districts elect their representatives during the NCACC Annual Conference in even-numbered years.

District Counties in District Director / County
1 Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington Wallace Nelson / Perquimans
2 Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin and Pitt Ed Booth / Beaufort
3 Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico and Wayne Mark Price / Onslow
4 Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover and Pender Jonathan Barfield / New Hanover
5 Bladen, Hoke, Robeson and Scotland Tony Hunt / Hoke
6 Cumberland, Harnett and Sampson Jerol Kivett / Sampson
7 Edgecombe, Halifax, Nash, Northampton and Wilson Viola Harris / Edgecombe
8 Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance and Warren Victor Hunt / Warren
9 Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Orange and Wake Karen Howard / Chatham
10 Anson, Montgomery, Moore and Richmond Louis Gregory / Moore
11 Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Guilford, Randolph and Rockingham Nate Hall / Caswell
12 Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and Union Vacant
13 Alexander, Burke, Caldwell and Catawba Mike LaBrose / Caldwell
14 Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey Vern Grindstaff / Mitchell
15 Cleveland, McDowell, Polk and Rutherford Johnny Hutchins / Cleveland
16 Buncombe, Henderson, Madison and Transylvania Norris Gentry / Madison
17 Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon and Swain CB McKinnon / Cherokee
18 Davie, Forsyth, Stokes, Surry and Yadkin Terry Renegar / Davie

National Directors

Because North Carolina is one of the strongest state associations within the National Association of Counties (NACo), North Carolina typically has four and sometimes five seats on the NACo Board of Directors.
Director County Position
Tracey Johnson Washington NACo Seat Number 1
Gloria Whisenhunt
Forsyth NACo Seat Number 2
Ray Jeffers Person NACo Seat Number 3
George Dunlap Mecklenburg At-large NACo Board appointee

Past Presidents

Beginning in 2013, the President may appoint up to five past presidents who are still active North Carolina County Commissioners to the Board of Directors for a one-year term.

Director County Term as President
Kitty Barnes Catawba NCACC President 2005-06
Darrell Frye Randolph NCACC President 1990-91
Ronnie Beale Macon NCACC President 2014-15
Fred McClure
NCACC President 2016-17

At-Large Directors

The president appoints commissioners to serve one-year terms as at-large directors. These commissioners are appointed to help achieve balance on the Board of Directors.

Position Director County
At-large director Blake Vance
At-large director Jessica Holmes
At-large director Trevor Fuller
At-large director Renee Price
At-large director
Tare Davis

Committee Leadership & Representatives

The president appoints commissioners to serve as chairs of the association’s seven steering committees and can appoint commissioners to chair special task forces established to study a specific issue.

Position Director County
Agriculture Steering Committee Chair Eddie Settle
Environment Steering Committee Chair Randy Thompson
General Government Steering Committee Chair Allen Thomas
Health and Human Services Steering Committee Chair Page Lemel Transylvania
Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee Chair Tammy Lee
Public Education Steering Committee Chair Gordon Wilder
Taxation and Finance Steering Committee Chair Marshall Faircloth
County Manager's Representative Mick Berry
Legislative Goals Committee Co-Chair Johnnie Carswell
Legislative Goals Committee Co-Chair Tracey Johnson
RMP Board of Trustees Representative Viola Harris